Everything You Need to Know about CompTIA Security+ Certification

CompTIA Security+ is an internationally recognized certification that confirms the specialists’ fundamental skills required to carry out the core security functions. As a matter of fact, it is the first security credential that the individuals who want to take up a career in IT security should earn. It validates their knowledge and skills in the core areas of cybersecurity roles, and with this certificate, the candidates can easily land a mid-level cybersecurity job in the industry. CompTIA Security+ is DoD 8570 compliant. This means that the holders of this certification can work in government agencies. This credential is also designed to align with the latest development trends in the field of network security.

Like other CompTIA certifications, Security+ is a vendor-neutral credential. It is globally recognized and accepted. The certificate demonstrates the skills of the professionals in a wide range of domains, which include network security; cryptography; application, data & host security; compliance & operational security; access control & identity management; and threats & vulnerability. By earning this CompTIA certification, you show that you have the capacity to apply knowledge of various security concepts, procedures, and tools to respond to security incidents. In addition, you also demonstrate that you have the capability to anticipate different security risks and mitigate CompTIA Security+ SY0-501 Real Questions.

As for the prerequisites, there are no compulsory certifications to be obtained. However, the candidates are required to have a minimum of two years of work experience in the field of IT administration with the main focus on security. These specialists should have the fundamental knowledge of technical functions along with experience in these day-to-day technical roles. Although it is not a requirement it is recommended that the individuals pursuing CompTIA Security+ should first get Certbolt CompTIA Network+ to enhance their understanding of the exam content of the first credential.

Overview of CompTIA Security+ Certification Exam

The candidates for the Security+ certificate are required to pass theSY0-501exam to qualify for this credential. The test covers a range of topics and domains, which include:

  • Threats, Vulnerabilities, and Attacks
  • Risk Management
  • Technologies & Tools
  • Access & Identity Management
  • Design & Architecture
  • Cryptography & Public Key Infrastructure (PKI)

The students need a thorough understanding of these objectives to be able to achieve success in the exam. The comprehensive details of these topics and subtopics can be found on the official webpage.

CompTIA SY0-501 is a 90-minute exam consisting of 90 questions. The test includes a combination of different question types, including multiple-choice and performance-based. The performance-based questions are designed to evaluate the learners’ capability to solve technical problems in simulated environments. If you want to pass this certification exam, you must score at least 750 on a scale of 900. The candidates for CompTIA SY0-501 have to pay the fee of $349 before taking this test. When it comes to preparation, there are ample resources available at your disposal. You can start by going through the training course available on the CompTIA learning platform. The link to this can be found on the exam page.

Job Opportunities for CompTIA Security+ Certified Professionals

The demand for cybersecurity professionals has continued to be on the rise. This means that the specialists with the CompTIA Security+ certification can find an easy fit in the world of cybersecurity job roles. Some of the positions that these individuals can take up include a system administrator, a network administrator, a security engineer, a security specialist, a security consultant, a security administrator, and a penetration tester/junior IT auditor. These job titles come with attractive remuneration packages, but the actual salary is dependent on a lot of factors. These include an organization, an experience level of a professional, and a job role, among others.

 Recertification Process for CompTIA Security+ Certification

The CompTIA Security+ credential is valid for a period of three years. After the expiration, the learners are expected to renew their certificates. There are basically two ways in which a renewal can be done. First of all, you can renew bypassing the latest version of the Security+ exam. Secondly, you can earn CEUs (Continuing Education Units) to recertify. To get CEUs, you have to take part in various qualified activities, such as attending the relevant professional events or conferences, obtaining another industry certification, or publishing a white paper or an article. The required CEUs for CompTIA Security+ is 50 units per renewal period.


CompTIA Security+ is an internationally recognized certification. It’s vendor-neutral, which means that it covers different security products. With the fundamental skills gained through the certificate, you can explore different job opportunities in any part of the world. As mentioned earlier, the SY0-501 exam is designed to equip you with hands-on skills and knowledge that can be applied to your job role.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button